About Prizes in the FAS

Prize winnerThe awarding of prizes at Harvard dates back to the early days of the College. The Detur Book Prize, for example, was established from the bequest of Edward Hopkins, who came to America in 1637, and the Bowdoin Prizes have been esteemed rewards for essays in English, Latin, and Greek since 1791.

Prizes in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) are given for academic excellence, outstanding individual qualities, or other achievements. They are also awarded for excellence in subjects as demonstrated by essays submitted directly for prize consideration, special examinations, or theses submitted to the departments. Although some awards listed under Prize Descriptions have the word “scholarship” in their titles, they are not need based and are awarded as prizes.

Need-based awards, scholarships, and certain fellowships may be awarded through the Office of Financial Aid, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, non-FAS Faculties, or individual academic departments. The Department of Athletics also recognizes the participation and achievement of individuals by the awarding of letters and prizes in a variety of sports. Information on all athletic prizes can be obtained from the Department of Athletics. Some additional prizes are administered locally by departments and are not listed here.

Bowdoin Prizes

Submissions for the 2019–2020 undergraduate
competition are now being accepted.

The deadline for Undergraduate Essays in the English Language was Thursday, April 2, 2020, at 11:59 p.m.
The deadline for Undergraduate Essay in the Natural Sciences is Thursday, April 9, 2020, at 11:59 p.m.

Hoopes Prize

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019–2020 Hoopes Prize competition.
The deadline for faculty nominations is Tuesday, April 21, 2020, at 11:59 p.m.

The deadline for student submissions is Thursday, April 23, 2020, at 11:59 p.m.

Wendell Prize

For information about the Wendell Prize,
please click the link.